Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today’s Memory Verse:

You know, I am still really inspired by Deuteronomy 7:9 (Yesterday’s Verse). So I am going to ponder & meditate on it some more.

Deu 7:9 Reads:

“Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations..” (ESV)

And in the next verse, although it’s probably unpopular christian theology in today’s modern churches to talk about this verse but, I think is some really good advice that goes with this verse.

“and repays to their face those who hate him, by destroying them. He will not be slack with one who hates him. He will repay him to his face. You shall therefore be careful to do the commandment and the statutes and the rules that I command you today.”

~ Due 7:10+11 (ESV)

Think: Thoughts from My Meditation

Although I am not a supporter of the Message bible as a bible, I do read it as a human interpretation & more like a commentary of what Peterson thinks about this verse. That said, I do like how he translated this verse. His translation reads:

“Know this: God, your God, is God indeed, a God you can depend upon. He keeps his covenant of loyal love with those who love him & observe his commandments for a thousand generations.” (MSG)

A couple things here helped me to understand this verse a little better. When the ESV translated the verse “… the faithful God…”, God’s dependability & consistency are meant to be conveyed. If you read my last journal entry I talked about how the Israelites are conquering their enemies & warned to destroy everything so as to not return to them. And I, presumptuously, thought about how the bible talks about us in the New Testament as “more than conquerors” (Rom 8) in regards to the chaos of this life. But how we need to destroy all our ties to false idols (false hopes) so as not to return to them in a moment of weakness. So with that in mind, how awesome is it to “know” that after we have abandoned all that we hoped in or that could be hoped in (died to oneself maybe?) and have pressed on toward God that we can depend on him to honor His commitments (covenants, promises)?

How valuable is God’s dependability to me? Priceless! (Where’s a MasterCard commercial when you need one :p) I think about it like this. There are ton’s of precepts out there that I can, and when I am weak do, place my trust.

//Precept: A plausible lie meant to decieve us from the truth. //

But here’s where this verse ties in: when I am free to see God for who He is. And am enabled to trust & hope, have faith, in Him as my savior, redeemer, king, and safety. This verse assures me I can depend on Him. My God is the most powerful & wise person ever to exist. He loves me with unwavering loyalty & determination. And He is consistently dependable. That’s pretty Kool!

 How valuable is God’s dependability to me? Priceless!..This verse assures me I can depend on Him. My God is the most powerful & wise person ever to exist. He loves me with unwavering loyalty & determination. And He is consistently dependable. That’s pretty Kool!

Pray

Dad,

Thank you for being so awesome. I know I am unwise & foolish at times. Please forgive me & enable me to once again be worthy of your blessings as your Son. Thank you for your determination in loving me. Thank you for being dependable & for performing your promise regardless of my failings. I love you & miss you.

Jonathan

Warning:

This is only my devotional meditations & not a safe interpretation of this verse. Please read this for yourself, pray about what it means, and study it systematically to find God’s intended message. I have not done this. Therefore, you are not safe to trust this alone. Read this and discern it for yourself. This is only my meditations journal.

