Tags

, , , , , , ,

**Warning: please know I have not studied this to find the true meaning yet, this is simply my observations**

 Today’s verse is Deuteronomy 7:9:

“Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations…”

Reading Deut 7:

This is taking place as the Israelite are in the wilderness..

Deuteronomy 7

Wow, this is a great passage. When I read this passage I see God saying something like this, “Hey when I save you & enable you to overcome those things that seek to enslave you, destroy those things completely. Don’t be half hazard about it! Why? Because we are special to God; chosen as His treasured possession! Chosen not because of anything you have done or who you are, but chosen because He loves you and swore long ago that He would do it!”

Then today’s verse comes:

“Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations…”

Man! This is an awesome verse! When I am reading this I am just blown away by God’s character. He is awesome! He’s like: I am going to save you & enable you to overcome anything that tries to enslave you, because I love you! So all you have to do is Know that I am our God! And that I am the true God! I am faithful to my promises & unwavering in my love for those who love me & honor me as King. And I will bless not only you but your children & their children for your faithfulness…”

Whoah! Our God is awesome! I could talk about the whole passage because I love it now (Deut 7), but I will focus on just this verse. I see _ things here:

1) My God is the only God, the only person in control of everything and who’s will matters, because He is King.

2) This Supreme King chooses to be a faithful person that loves me.

3) And if I am faithful, He will bless my family for generations to come..

Whoa… We are so blessed… God could be have been anyone.. He could have been horrible & difficult to serve… But instead He is loving. Cares about me as a unique creation of His. He makes covenants with me; a lowly peasant. I am just blown away!

Prayer

Dear God,

Dad you are really awesome. Why you choose to be so loving, generous, patient, king, and awesome to me is unfathomable to me. I have messed up a lot. But I do love you! I am so grateful for everything you have done for me. I definitely acknowledge you as my King, Lord, and God! You are the only creator & sustainer of this life of mine. I will serve you. I pray for your strength & guidance as I live this life. I know you will enable me to win this war for your kingdom! The war inside me and outside me. Help me to completely destroy those things that are holding me back. That are causing me to sin against you. So that I may truly & completely obey you! And in obeying you I will become like your son; Jesus the Christ! Praise You God!

Amen.

